Golden Pedestal of Foundations

So this is an unusual type of post but I do love makeup so I thought I’d share my experience with it. My favorite foundations from light, medium, & full coverage with pros & cons. 

I wear foundation pretty much anytime I step out of my house. I always wash my face, moisturize, and prime it before I apply (maybe that can be a different post) foundation and buff it out with a Sephora Pro Airbrush #55 or a Make Up For Ever 108 Large Foundation Brush.

Best Coverage: Estee Lauder’s Double Wear Maximum Cover 

  This is probably the longest wearing full coverage you will ever see. At $37 for a 1 oz squeeze tube thingy, it’s pricey. But it’s also really really good. This foundation doesn’t feel cakey as all, is so very buildable, and has a nice matte finish. You hardly need to use a finishing powder, maybe if you have oily skin, but you don’t need to worry about sweating this stuff off at all. I know girls that have played full out lacross games with this foundation (wearing their eye masks) with no transfer. This stuff is insanely good and worth every penny. It has SPF 15 but isn’t bad at all with flash photography. It looks super nice and hides redness really well. It covers some serious cystic acne (if that’s a thing you need) while also looking very natural on your skin. You don’t need a lot with this product. A pea size amount can cover a solid amount of your face, I swear. 10 out of 10 would recommend for anyone trying to conceal dark spots from acne, scars, sun spots, whatever it is you need.

Most Longwearing: Kat Von D’s Lock-It Tattoo Foundation 

This foundation is pretty much another version of the Estee one I just wrote about up top. I would say this foundation is much more longlasting though. You can go for a swim, to the beach, a trip to the waterpark, whatever your water desires may be, and then go to bed, wake up and take a shower, and this stuff will still be on your face. Yeah. It’s that good. Kat Von D is a tattoo artist so if you have a tattoo on your face somewhere that you need to cover for whatever reason, this foundation paired with her Tattoo Concealer will make any blemish, redness, or imperfection disappear. The only downside to this is that it sets fast. Really really fast. Work with little dabs and blend as you go. Though you have to work fast and blend quickly, once it sets, it stays….kind of. This foundation transfers a little and if you have oily skin, I wouldn’t suggest this. I have combo-dry skin and from what I hear, oily-skinned make up enthusiasts see this needing a setting powder and blotting after a few hours. However, if you need a foundation for a night of dancing or a photoshoot, this may very well be your go-to.

Best Natural: Dior’s Diorskin Nude Skin-Glowing Makeup 

For about $50, you can get the Diorskin Nude in 1 oz bottle. Jeezus that’s so damn expensive. I mean, I get it, it’s Dior, but also I am Nam not Bill Gates. I guess they don’t call it high-end for nothing. Besides the price, this foundation delivers a beautiful coverage, a natural glow, and a super blendable and creamy formula. The foundation is so creamy and it literally makes your skin radiant. As if you swallowed the sun or something. Think that glow. For people with acne prone skin, this product can do some nice coverage, is super moisturizing, and will feel so so so light. It’s almost as if you’re not wearing anything and you really aren’t. You don’t need to apply much with this. I really do love this one for a natural and luminescent glow. It has SPF 15, but photographs like a Jessica Alba natural luminescence. If you really want to go for an extra shimmer, add Koh Gen Do’s Aqua Foundation Illuminator for a Red Carpet look. Though it’s really pricey, I think this foundation is totally worth it. If I could afford it, I’d literally use this every day of my life.

Best Mineral (Liquid): Natio Pure Mineral Foundation

 Natio’s Pure Mineral Mineral Foundation is from Australia and pretty much nonexistent in America (though I have found it online). It’s listed as $19.95 on their website which is roughly $18 USD. This is more of a light to medium foundation and very natural feeling. You only need about coat for a nice and glowing look. It has a natural finish (dewy but not oily), feels light and soft on your skin, and it lets your skin breathe. Because it’s an au naturale foundation, it contains all those goodies like Jojoba Oil, Vitamin C & E, and more stuff. The only con is that the formula is on the thicker size so you should use a light hand and blend well (lots of buffing it into your skin). But honestly, this is so worth it. The only weird thing is that this comes in a squeezy bottle which is kind of unconventional for foundation bottles from what I know. However you can take off the top and use a spatula to scrape out the last of the product. If you’re on the paler side, this is totally for you though. The color range isn’t that great for the darker skin tones, but it’s a nice product and I highly suggest it.

Best Drugstore: Neutrogena Healthy Skin Foundation

 

So this foundation for around $13 is really really good. It gives you a nice airbrushed radiance. If you’re on the drier side, your skin will really like this. It’s hydrating, stays hydrating, and makes your skin look “healthy”, just like it claims to. It stays on fairly well without getting too oily, but even then, it’s not going to make you look like a grease ball. Just a nice, healthy glow. (Girls glow, not sweat, remember?) For my acne prone skin, I think this made my skin look absolutely wonderful. It felt nice and soft on my skin without mattifying it, and gave me a soft, natural look.  The only con is that there’s no pump. When will make up companies learn, we want the pumps!!! Also, the coverage isn’t there, but, this is a light light makeup after all. Heavier than a BB cream, but lighter than most foundations. It’s also a selective color range, but I’ve mixed colors to find mine before, and it worked just as well. I also found this goes on best with either a damp beauty blender, or your fingers. Probably better with fingers actually. I’d give this a solid 7/10. For days when I want to go light but still look lovely, Neutrogena is *totally* my go-to.

and drum roll for my *favorite* foundation of all time……

Favorite Foundation EVER: Make Up Forever HD Invisible Cover Foundation

Okay, everyone knows of this stuff. For about $42, you get 1.01 oz of pure liquid beauty. This stuff can turn your day around and I swear by MUF’s make up. I’ve been using this stuff pretty much everyday for about 3-4 months and I fall in love with it every time I put it on. Using stippling motions and buffing it out, you get a flawless, smooth, softness of just photoshopped perfection. This foundation is a little runny but it feels so lightweight, you could layer it on forever before feeling cakey. It also doesn’t oxidize weirdly at all and is just. Goodness, excuse me. I need a moment. This foundation is that good. The finish is natural, almost dewey but more on the matter side. It also photographs so well, even with flash. This is probably the #1 foundation is my whole collection and I love it. It also covers all of my hyperpigmentation, discolouration, acne, and so on. I know make up doesn’t make you beautiful, but for those days when you feel down on your luck –  this foundation is the perfect thing to make you shine. I just love it. I’ve worn this out all night (dinners, galas, dances, weddings, humid mountain air, everything) and it holds up against all forces. I 100% recommend this to any make up enthusiast or anyone needing photograph-perfect skin. Worth every penny, I promise.

So those are my top foundations. I love venturing to try more and see what’s out there, but I do love the ones I have. Foundations are something you can’t skip on when it comes to price (which is why so many of these are on the higher-end of make up), since it goes all over your face. I have dry/normal skin and am suuuper acne prone, but all of these foundations work really well for me. Y’all let me know if I should try any others or if you have any special make up tips and tricks you have.

-Much love my to beautiful readers,
PN

Leave a Reply

