Courtship, Dating, Relationships…What?

I like the idea of a courtship much more than I do dating…what?

Yes, you read correctly. I don’t know if I’ve been watching too much of 19 Kids and Counting or what’s going on, but I really like the idea of courting. To my understanding, courting is a relationship you enter into with the ideal goal of marriage. Now the difference between dating and courting, is that there are strict rules with courtship. In a courtship, there’s limited physical contact and alone time. Sounds crazy right? Well, it is. But I think this level of modesty, it really lets you know a person without having the pressure to succumb to physical intimacy. Don’t get me wrong, if you want to do whatever you want to do, that’s fine; whatever floats your boat.

It’s just that the idea of courtship to me is so enchanting. You enter into a relationship with a person you find absolutely captivating and your relationship exists solely to bring you guys closer to marriage. I’m not sure how to explain the distinction between dating and courting, but with dating, it’s kind of just like “wow I like you, you like me, let’s be a thing”. Courtship seems more serious you know?

Another thing is that with courtship, you don’t really date anyone prior to. You get to know people yes, but you don’t date before entering a courtship, I don’t think. But then again, a courtship’s rules and regulations are set by you and your partner, so it’s really up to you.

I like how in courtship, there are physical limitations. Don’t get me wrong, I love intimacy and physical schmuck as much as any other high school teenager, but when you get to know someone without the jumble of physical “lusting” involved, I feel like it could be so much more intense. You want someone to fall in love with your mind and your heart before your boobies and wee-wee, right? A mental connection is stronger than any physical connection.

I’ve definitely been binge-watching 19 Kids and Counting lately, especially with Jill’s and Jessa’s courtships/engagements/weddings being the topic at hand. So maybe that’s influencing me, but I just think it’s so lovely to court instead of date and to save yourself until you want to give it up. I’m not shaming premarital sex or whatever you want to call it, like yo you do your thing and you be happy, but devoting your self to (dare I say) God first and then after to your significant other is just so unbearably sweet.

I think I”m crazy guys. I’m 16 and I’ve been watching weddings and thinking of all this. Goodness. But no worries, I also am keeping up with my studies – speaking of which, I have a world history chapter to outline. How do yall feel on the matter?

-PN

11 thoughts on “Courtship, Dating, Relationships…What?

Comments are closed.