I lost for president and I’m cool

So we had primary elections today and during 5th period Spanish, I found out that I didn’t make the cut for the top 2 candidates for president. I couldn’t hide my slight pout, but I’m not super upset (surprisingly). I was so so so skeptical of running this year with everything going on, and I totally feel assured that I did the right thing by running. I may have not had the greatest chance, but at least I know for sure that I wouldn’t be president.

I’m actually surprisingly really okay with not being president this year. Like, it’s so weird. Not to sound conceited, but I don’t “lose” that often (mainly because I’ve just had a really cushy life) and so I expected some anger, resentment, or at least negativity to surface when I didn’t hear my name over the loud speaker; but instead, I kind of just smiled and clapped a little for the two that did make it out of the 5 of candidates. Obviously I felt a little sad that I didn’t make it, but hey, at least I was president last year and had a chance at it.

It was a great experience and I’d love to do it again; but let’s be real, it was a big responsibility and unheard pressure. “Make the dance perfect or have everyone hate you” kind of silent tension. It was also really awkward to scold or correct peers. It’s a part of life, but it’s that icky part everyone tries to avoid, ya feeel? So I’m totes cool with taking a back seat this year and glad that I even had the honour of serving as president once.

It should be really nice this year to sit back, relax, and just follow under the great leadership that the officers set this year. That one candidate that I mentioned a few posts back that I almost wanted to win more than I wanted to win myself is one of the two finalists, so I’m actually really happy about that. I feel like that person would make the coolest president, so I’m really routing for that person.

Sometimes you don’t have to be a leader; you just have to be able to take a step back and listen to someone else. That may be the greatest quality of a leader actually. It’s not something I’ve done a lot, since I’ve always thrusted myself into positions of power, so I’m excited to try this new role out.

If y’all lose or make a mistake, or something ends up in a way you didn’t want – know that that is the way it’s meant to be and being upset about it won’t help at all. So chin up, and realize this is a new experience you hadn’t expected to have. It’s like taking a hard left to the right way. So no harsh feelings, no hate, no resentment, no anger; just happy and understanding.

-PN

Leave a Reply

