Yum Alert!: Banananana Bread

imageBananas are my favorite fruit. Absolutely delicious and just so versatile and mmmhm!! This banana bread recipe is by Flour (whoever that is) and it’s provided courtesy of Food Network. I’ve been making this recipe for about 3 years and lemme tell you, I got all the compliments.


So many compliments in fact that my friends have given me blackened bananas and demanded banana bread. (My friends are all cuckoo.) Tonight, like many nights before, I have nothing but an empty heart and 3 blackened bananas.

HAHA Just kidding, that was really dark, wasn’t it? I don’t have an empty heart (it’s full of blood and oxygen, no worries), but I do have 3 blackened bananas! I often make this recipe in a loaf form, like the traditional banana bread, but this time I put them in cupcake liners so it’s easier for my brother to grab them before school. I’m such a thoughtful sister. (That’s a lie, I’m actually horrible. I didn’t shovel the snow at all this past week, so this is repentance.)

Funny story, while I was making these I was thinking about something (or someone? gasp) and I totally lost my mind. I set the oven for 450 instead of 350, but I caught the mistake before it did any harm. Hahaha be careful in the kitchen yall!

I made some adjustments to the original recipe, but if you want to stick to the original, girl, you do you! The original is just as delicious!IMG_20141102_121848

Bananananana Bread
Makes about 18 “muffins” or 1 loaf

Ingredients
1 2/3 cups of all purpose flour
2 teaspoon of baking soda
1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
pinch of salt
3/4 cup of sugar
2 eggs (room temp)
1/2 cup of oil (I use veggie)
3 large/5 medium bananas (you do you)
2 tablespoons of vanilla/plain yogurt (optional subs. sour creme, creme fraiche)
2 teaspoons of vanilla extract (or as much as you want, I don’t run your life.)
4 tablespoons of maple syrup (more or less as you like)
2 tablespoons of sweetened condensed milk (optional)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line your cupcake tin with paper liners or butter/oil your loaf pan.

Beat the sugar and egg until it’s white and fluffy. This step took me about 12 minutes. It was agonizing. Use a hand mixer. After drizzle in your oil, slowly. Dumping it in all at once makes it hard to incorporate.

Because I’m lazy, I mash up my bananas in the skin. Just pinch the banana and try not to break it, then when it’s mashed to your liking, peel it and inside should be all mush like baby food. You could mash it in a different bowl, but yknow, more things to wash. Add in your maple syrup, sweetened condensed milk, vanilla, and yogurt here. Give it a mix.

Now you can fold in your dry ingredients. The original recipe calls for you to sift everything separately and carefully fold it in, but I like to live life on the risky side. I measured and dumped everything in and just mixed it together. (Flour, cinnamon, baking soda, salt)

If you want to add in nuts, coconut, chocolate chips, raisins, whatever, here’s your chance. A nifty trick to make sure none of it sinks to the bottom is to toss it in some flour before you fold it in. I have no idea what science is behind this magic, but it’ll make sure your chocolate chips/whatever additions don’t sink. Just do it. I promise it works. Also don’t fold the batter too much after you add your choice of thingie majig because then you’ll overmix it and it somehow ends at the bottom. Again, I’m unfamiliar with this black magic so you might want to go tweet Tom Felton or Snape for a better answer.

Pour it into your previously greased loaf pan or scoop it into your cupcake liners. I fill them with about 1/2 a centimeter from the top but feel free to be conventional and use the “3/4” rule. Bake “muffins” for about 12-15 minutes and loaves for 30-45 minutes. When they turn golden brown, they should be done. Double check with a toothpick, if it comes out clean, you’re good.

Enjoy these little nuggets of wonder. Best banana bread ever, I promise you.

Leave a Reply

