Creamy Tomato Alfredo Pasta (Easy)

1433472744805Whenever I’m in a frustrated, upset, or stressed out bout, I cook! I think cooking is the most relaxing way to take your mind off of something without putting your body at risk (aka punching walls. Don’t do that.) So tonight, I made a delicious pasta with fresh cherry tomatoes and leftover cheese. It’s a super simple and easy pasta that is delicious, filling, and fast.

Last Saturday, I had a birthday bbq and I bought so much produce. I think I still have 3-4 heads of romaine still, but tonight I used up all of the cherry tomatoes (there weren’t many) and a few slices of cheese. I had some left over Tostitos Spinach Artichoke Dip too, so threw some in. But feel free to modify this however you like. I think some chicken, sausage, spinach, peppers, onions, paprika, chipotle peppers, anchovies, or even clams would be delicious.

I usually don’t cook by recipe, especially when it comes to pasta, so these are estimated measurements. You cook however you think you should and adjust this recipe as you go along.

If it comes out as delicious as mine did, let me know in the comments.

Creamy Tomato Alfredo Pasta
Serves about 4 or 5 generously

Ingredients
One box of pasta (preferably penne, gemelli, rigatoni, or casarecce)
A few tablespoons of olive oil
1/2-1 cup of cherry/grape tomatoes
a few slices of cheese (I used 1 monterey jack, 3 colby jack, and 1 cheddar) or 1/2-1 cup of cheese
1 1/2 tbsp of all purpose flour
1 cup of milk, keep it cold
2 tbsp garlic (powder or minced)
Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions

Cook your pasta to directions, salt the water if you are a normal person because water should always be flavorful. After it’s to your liking, drain and set aside.

Add a tablespoon or two to your skillet. Wait for it to heat up, you’ll see ripples, and carefully add in your tomatoes. As they start to cook, they’ll burst and the skin will break. Sauteé your tomatoes until 90% of them have popped open. Put them in a bowl and set aside.

Add your flour in now. If it’s too dry, add some butter or oil. Sauteé your oil until it’s like a play-doh consistency. Don’t worry, just keep going. After about 30-45 seconds, slowly add in your cold milk. Stir it in gradually until you have enough of a sauce for your pasta. If you like your pasta with lot of sauce, add more milk. If you like your pasta a bit dry, hold back some milk. Let this cook on low for a bit as you prep your cheese. Don’t forget to stir or it’ll burn.

If you have to shred your cheese, do so now. If not, tear up your cheese slices and add it to your roux/cream sauce. At first it will clump up, but keep stirring and it’ll melt in well. If you need to loosen up your sauce, feel free to add more water/milk. I would have used milk but I had already put it back in the fridge and I’m lazy so…water. It worked out fine.

This is the part where you taste for spices. I added in some garlic powder, salt, and pepper. You could even throw in some tarragon, basil, or nutmeg in if your fancy. I’m not, so I stuck my good ol’garlic.

Throw your tomatoes back in and let your sauce simmer for a bit so everything has a chance to marinate and harmonize together. Then throw your pasta in and voila. It’s done!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

