Sauce Alert: Dumpling/Udon Vinegar Soy Sauce

I was watching CookWithApril when I realized that I haven’t done a food blog in so long! Shame on me! I was thinking of all the foods I always make and one of the staples that my friends love having when they come over is my cold udon noodles with a vinegar soy sauce or dumplings dipped in that same sauce. Actually, I use this soy sauce for pasta salad, salmon marinade, cold udon noodles, dipping veggies or dumplings in, and so much more. It’s really simple.

I don’t have any pictures, because I haven’t made any of it lately (I’m traveling!) but it’s delicious, just trust me. Even Mama Nguyen approved of it.


Vinegar Soy Sauce

Ingredients

1/4 cup of soy sauce
4 tbsp of honey or sugar
2 tbsp of apple cider vinegar
1 tsp of sesame oil

Instructions

Just mix everything up in a bowl, chill, and then serve!


So here’s the thing, the type of ingredients you use is very important.

For soy sauce, I recommend Maggi Seasoning Sauce. It’s found widely in supermarkets and stores alike, is inexpensive, and honestly the best.

For the debate between honey and sugar, I suggest honey if you’re using it as a marinade but sugar for all other reasons. It just works out that way. I think it tastes the same but my friends like sugar more I’ve noticed.

For a sauce for cold udon noodles, I highly suggest you add ice to this. It sounds weird, but this is the best quick lunch hack I have. I buy udon in those packs of 5 in the frozen section at HMart (go for the sanuki udon noodles). I go home, grab a brick of udon noodles, boil it for not even 2 minutes in rapid boiling water. You want the texture to be chewy and firm. I drain and rinse and then toss it with the vinegar soy sauce and some ice. It’s perfect for a hot summer day or living in Florida. It’s super refreshing and I highly recommend it!

Let me know if any of you try this sauce. It’s my go to Salmon marinade (add some minced garlic), udon sauce, and dumpling dipping sauce. Love it!

Leave a Reply

